Links & Quick takes

Dave Barry’s 2016 retrospective is helping with my catharsis.

A self-sufficient Scottish island is for sale. How hard could it be to come up with a couple million dollars?

One thing I love about this time of year are all the book lists! Time to spend hours reading reviews and making numerous lists and sublists, from which I may manage to find time to read a handful of titles this year!

I watched Pride and Prejudice and Zombies this week. I never read the book (it seemed to add little to Austen fanfic beyond its gimmicky premise), but when I heard about the film I thought — “this is a great cast, and I’d love to see them in an adaptation of P&P, but I don’t think the zombies would really add anything.” Now, having seen it: great cast, and I wish I could have seen them in a straight adaptation, because the zombies don’t really add anything. Matt’s Smith was particularly in his element as a delightfully pompous Mr Collins.

A poet describes her consternation at learning her poetry has become part of a standardized test.

The Darwins articulate some of my frustrations about Lin-Manuel Miranda’s latest fundraiser.

 

 

Leave a Reply

